fedora cannot ship mp3

I will be writing help for gnome-music as my opw internship project. So to accomplish my task successfully I need to play some music. I am using fedora 19 also called Schrodinger’s cat. As mp3  files are the widely used audio file format, I downloaded the song “brown girl in the ring” a mp3 file. I tried to play in gnome-music(running using jhbuild) first, I failed. Then I tried the same in rhythmbox, I again failed. 😦

Then I come to know that fedora does not include support for encoding and decoding mp3 format as it requires patented technologies. To explore more click here. So it is clear that I will have to install the plugins which support mp3 file format.

Installation of mp3 plugins

To successfully install software which is not shipped with the fedora project we first need to enable RPM Fusion. We can accomplish this by running the following command in the terminal:

sudo yum localinstall –nogpgcheck http://download1.rpmfusion.org/free/fedora/rpmfusion-free-release-19.noarch.rpm http://download1.rpmfusion.org/nonfree/fedora/rpmfusion-nonfree-release-19.noarch.rpm

Run the following command to install mp3 plugins:

sudo yum install gstreamer1-libav gstreamer1-plugins-bad-free-extras gstreamer1-plugins-bad-freeworld gstreamer1-plugins-good-extras gstreamer1-plugins-ugly

I removed the songs from the playlist in rhythmbox and created a new playlist. Now I can enjoy listening to “brown girl in the ring tra lala lala” 😉

4 thoughts on “fedora cannot ship mp3

  1. After you install RPM Fusion repository rpms, you can simply play the mp3 file and gstreamer should tell you what you need to download and offer to install it from there.

    (For videos, this often needs to be done twice, it will deal with the audio once and the video the next time you play the file…)

Leave a Reply

